Home / Uncategorized / Anti Cow Slaughter Laws gets a boost as Ajmer Sharif Dargah Head bats for Cow Protection

Anti Cow Slaughter Laws gets a boost as Ajmer Sharif Dargah Head bats for Cow Protection


Check which States in India still allow Cow slaughter.

The Holy Cow
The Holy Cow

Ajmer Dargah spiritual Head Sh. Zainul Abedin Ali Khan today called on the Muslim community to present and set an example by safeguarding and protecting Cows which hold religious significance for Hindu brothers.

He advised that all those who are indulging in violence over the issue of Cow beef should strictly avoid doing it.  He called upon both the communities to live with brotherly harmony and unity in the interest of the Nation.

He said that lately some unscrupulous elements are trying to disturb the harmonious relations between Hindu and Muslim communities on the issue of Cow beef.

Sh. Khan said that Cow is the religious symbol for Hindus brothers but the issue of beef has now become a new weapon of religion and this is having a negative impact on the image of the country in the eyes of the World.

Sh. Zainul, who is Deewan of the holy shrine of Sufi saint Khwaja Moinuddin Chisti, said that even Prophet Muhammad has preached that eating beef is not advisable and there is absolutely no evidence in history of any Sufi saint or religious leader eating beef.

States where cow slaughter is not banned as of yet:

13) Kerala
No restrictions on cow slaughter.

23) West Bengal
No restrictions on cow slaughter.

16, 18) Other Northeast
No ban on cow slaughter in Arunachal, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura, Sikkim.

In Manipur, even though Maharaja in 1939 decreed and ordered for prosecution for cow slaughter, but still beef is consumed widely.

Where does the Holy Cow stand in the nation
Where does the Holy Cow stand in the nation

States where cow slaughter is totally banned:

1) Andhra Pradesh & Telangana
Species of Cow can be killed against “fit-enough-for-slaughter” certificate, which is issued if animals can no longer be used for breeding; draught/agricultural operations. Violation can lead to 6 months jail and/or Rs 1,000 fine.

2) Assam
Cow slaughter banned except upon issuance of ‘fit-enough-for-slaughter’ certificate, at designated places.

3) Bihar
Slaughter of cows only older than 15 years allowed. Violators can be sent to 6 months’ jail and/or Rs 1,000 fine.

4) Chandigarh
Killing a cow and its species is totally banned.

5) Chhattisgarh
Slaughter of cow species and possession of their meat banned. Transport, export to other states for cow slaughter is also banned. It can attracts punishment of 7 years’ jail, fine up to Rs 50,000.

6) Delhi
Slaughter of  cow and its species is prohibited. Possession of cow flesh, even if they are killed outside Delhi is totally banned. Buffaloes are not covered under it.

7) Gujarat
Slaughter of cow and their meat banned. Punishment is Rs 50,000 fine, up to 7 years’ jail. But Ban does not include buffaloes.

8) Haryana
As per a 2015 legislation, “cow can’t be killed. Punishment: 3-10 years jail, fine up to Rs 1 lakh.

9) Himachal Pradesh
Slaughter punishable by 5 years’ jail. Killing allowed only in the interest of research, or if animal has contagious disease.

10) Jammu & Kashmir
Slaughter of cow species is punishable by up to 10 years’ jail.

11) Jharkhand
Slaughter of cows species banned. Violators punishable upto 10 years’ jail and/or Rs 10,000 fine.

12) Karnataka
Cows species can be slaughtered only if old or diseased. Possession not a crime. Bill pending since 2010 made slaughter punishable by 7 years’ jail and Rs 1 lakh fine, but it did not become law.

14) Madhya Pradesh
Slaughter of cow species banned. Penalty upto 7 years’ jail in 2012.

15) Maharashtra
Slaughter and consumption of cow species banned. 5 years’ jail and/or Rs 10,000 fine. While Slaughter of buffaloes is allowed.

No restrictions on Cow slaughter.

17) Odisha
Cow slaughter punishable with 2 years’ jail, Rs 1,000 fine for . Old bulls, bullocks can be slaughters certificate if it suffers from contagious disease.

19) Punjab
Slaughter is allowed only for export, with government issued permit.

20) Rajasthan
Slaughter of cow prohibited; possession, transport of their flesh also prohibited. Punishable with 10 years’ imprisonment and/or Rs 10,000 fine.

21) Tamil Nadu
Cow slaughter banned; punishable up to 3 years’ jail and/or Rs 1,000 fine. Only economically useless animals allowed to be killed.

22) Uttar Pradesh
Slaughter of cow totally banned. Can’t be stored or eaten. Upyo 7 years’ jail and/or Rs 10,000 fine. Can imported only in sealed containers, to be served only to foreigners. Buffaloes can still be killed.


Facebook Comments

Check Also

New Appointment of Judges

Now Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal gets Thirteen New High Court Justices, Check Names

October,7,2016: Judicial appointments are picking up a steady pace now President Pranab Mukherjee on Monday approved the appointment of Thirteen New Additional Judges as Judges at Calcutta and MP High Courts. The newly appointed Judges for Calcutta High Court Justices Ashis Kumar ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *